STÖJ SNAK - Life, Death and Everything in Between - Solid Magenta Edition - LP

14,60 €


Some people see things that are, and ask, why? Some people dream of things that never were, and ask, why not? Some people have to go to work and don’t have time for all that.
- George Carlin

"Life, Death and Everything in Between" is the Danish, screamer-songwriter quartet Stöj Snak's sophomore album. 12 tracks of heartfelt, folky troubadour-punk infused with plenty of raw energy and melodic catchiness.

Released four years after the debut, this album completes the transition from one-man-band to four-piece. The songs still revolve around singer/songwriter Niels Højgaard Sørensen's raspy yet melodic voice but are clearly built to be performed by a band - full of instrumental finesse and ripe with washboards, double-bass and other trash instruments (counting members from Mighty Midgets, Columbian Neckties, Batolit, and the record collective 5Feetunder Records).

The album sees the band pushing its folk-punk sound up a notch, blending in almost thrash-sounding riffs and plenty of screaming while still maintaining a catchy, melodic edge in the songwriting on the more action-packed songs such as "Trees" and "Fire". But the album also ventures in a more experimental and tender direction on the piano-driven "Songs About Beliefs" and the closing 11-minute title track.

The lyrics also remain an integral part of the songs. And while the album (like its predecessor) has a great deal of social commentary, the lyrics this time take a more personal approach and tackles how our culture and societal structures affect us all on a more intimate level (e.g. "The (Not So) Great Depression" and the sarcastic "Sensible Utility").

Singer/songwriter Niels Højgaard Sørensen has the following to say on the album's lyrical themes: "The songs on this album seem to circle around family and relationships in the modern, societal structures and how we, the inhabitants of these systems, are affected by them. How the constant chase after validation, possessions, and careers constantly diverge our attention from the people and moments that are the most important to us. And make us forget ourselves."

The album will be distributed worldwide as a collective effort by the following (awesome) DIY labels:
- 5FeetUnder Records
- Angry Music Records
- D.I.Y Koło Records
- Entes Anomicos
- Geenger Records
- Heartland
- Make-That-A-Take Records
- Incredible Noise Records
- La Caliya Project
- Make-That-A-Take Records
- Maniyax Records
- TNSrecords
- YLLS records

So this album is dedicated to our kids, families, and lovers! Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

All songs are written, produced, recorded, and mixed by Niels Højgaard Sørensen.
Co-produced, recorded, and mastered by Rasmus Glassau Clausen
Additional set of ears, eyes, and taste buds by Kasper Vestergaard
Constant inspiration and enduring voice of reason by Jill Juul Jacobsen

Beta-tested by Mads Krogh and Troels Højgaard Sørensen

On this record Stöj Snak are
Niels Højgaard Sørensen
Rasmus Glassau Clausen
Jeppe Nørgaard
Jesper Olsen

Additional musicians
Sara Harrington
Tobias Dahl Nielsen
Troels Højgaard Sørensen
Frederik Glassau
Slagterens Tove

Artwork and layout by Niels Højgaard Sørensen

Pressing Information
233 x LP - Solid Magenta Vinyl
233 x LP - Solid Yellow Vinyl
100 x LP - Solid Gold Vinyl (Stöj Snak exclusive)
100 x LP - Solid Blue Vinyl + Black Splatter (Stöj Snak exclusive)