SEINE - Sno sna - CD

9,95 €


Mr. Moonlee proudly presents the debut full-length of the Croato-Serbian group Seine. The project was started in 2007 by Ivan Ščapec but it only got the deserved attention after the hiatus of his former band Vlasta Popić in 2015. Beginning as a singer-songwriter project, Seine later developed into a full-fledged band with Dimitrij Mekotanović Petrović (Vlasta Popić, Radost) on drums, percussions and back vocals and Boško Mijušković (Straight Mickey and the Boyz, Škrtice) on the bass, who is replaced by Ivan Grobenski (Moskau) for live performances. After some solo releases which included an EP and a live album, the newly formed trio released the single 'Kritika čistog razuma' and began touring the Balkans. In 2016 they played at Demo Fest in Banja Luka (BIH) and won the largest band competition in the region. The award was a chance to record their debut. After playing MENT Ljubljana 2017, Seine joined forces with Moonlee Records and result is their debut full length abum 'Sno Sna' (The Dream of a Dream). ‘Sno sna’ is a showcase of dreamy acoustic strumming, psychedelic bass lines and minimalistic though hearty drum patterns interwoven into a tale of love and longing. Half a minute into the record, you're immediately transfixed by Ščapec's idiosyncratic vocal timbre with a quaint feminine character in the vein of Cigarettes After Sex. The pathos of his delivery also reminds us of the emo mavericks Sunny Day Real Estate. But the gist of Seine’s musical expression lies in the prominent acoustic guitar. While songs like 'Privatno tijelo' (Private Body), the pseudo nursery rhyme 'Bubamara' (Ladybug) and centrepiece ‘Ljubav’ (Love) might recall the work of Sufjan Stevens, and while the track ‘Janko’ is an obvious nod to Serbo-Croatian folk songs, most of the tracks possess a more introspective, oftentimes melancholic mid-nineties character not far from the likes of Smashing Pumpkins. 'Sno Sna' may be listened to as a punk’s tale in the disguise of a folk record, or vice versa, a heartfelt folk album gone punk. Sno sna by SEINE The album ’Sno sna’ was recorded by Dimitrij Petrović and Uroš Milkić in studios Radost, Zagreb; Underground Factory, Beograd; and Šamarčina in Vrbas. Produced and mixed by Boris Mladenović. Mastered by Carl Saff. The cover design is work of Marina Uzelac and Nebojša Beat Nenadić. ‘Sno sna’ will be released on September 14th 2017 on Moonlee Records and Vox Project in digital format, as well as in CD and LP formats. Seine is an uprising household name of the already exciting ex-YU indie scene that has been thriving for the past few years... and certainly a band to keep your eye on.